

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

May 20th, 2015, 2:00 P.M. Room 511-A, State Capitol Building Oklahoma City, OK 73105

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, Bruce Day, Dr. Bo

Hannaford, Johnnie Parks, Dr. Kent Shellenberger

and Secretary of Education Natalie Shirley

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: None

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Sherry Labyer, Robert Buswell, Jerry Hsieh, Abby Murphey, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Dr.

Kathren Stehno and Jeff Wallace

VISITORS: Jake Yunker, Office of the Governor.

Call to Order: Secretary Shirley called the meeting to order at 2:07 PM.

Welcome from Dr. Sherry Labyer: Dr. Labyer welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary Shirley asked for the Roll Call to be taken. Seven Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Approval of Minutes from the April 15th Commission Meeting: Dr. Shellenberger made a motion to approve the minutes of the April 15th, 2015 Commission meeting as submitted. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr Daw	abetain		= =

Commission Members and OEQA staff participated in cut score training with Alpine testing: Susan Davis-Becker presenter.

Quality and Accountability Program Reviews/Updates: updates included up-coming CAEP training, four site visits this fall, surveys, progress reports on goals, hosting of first task force meeting for performance assessments, computer based testing, school performance reviews, Oklahoma Educational Indicators and School Profile Reports, Oklahoma Works, OSDE Equity Study and Action Academy for Oklahoma alternative certified teachers.

NCTQ Report: discussion of a new committee being formed with Dr. Hannaford, Dr. Sherry Labyer, and Amy Bixler; additional committee members will be identified.

New Business: Improve Commissioner seating chart.

Announcements and Informational Items: Dr. Labyer shared information regarding OEQA Program snapshots, monthly budget and coding changes.

The meeting adjourned at 4:15 PM.

The minutes of the May 20th, 2015 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted with corrections

on June 17th, 2015.

Signed:

Natalie Shirley, Chairman

Dr. Sherry Labyer, Executive Director